Ubuntu 11.04 on VirtualBox 4.0.6 with Unity Interface


I just tried out Ubuntu 11.04 Beta (with Unity Interface) on the latest VirtualBox 4.0.6 r71416.

Here is my VirtualBox Configuration set for Ubuntu 11.04 Virtual Machine.

In addition 3D acceleration must be enabled and VM should have decent video memory (>= 32MB)

After the first boot you may see this warning “It seems that you do not have the hardware required to run Unity. Please choose Ubuntu Classic at the login screen and you will be using the traditional environment.”

Just ignore this warning message and install latest version (4.0.6) of Virtualbox guest additions.

Shutdown the VM gracefully. Remove Installation ISO from the Virtual Disk Drive and Power up the VM.

experience the coolest linux environment

3 thoughts on “Ubuntu 11.04 on VirtualBox 4.0.6 with Unity Interface

  1. Thanks, it’s just what I wanted to know. It worked for me but it should be noted that it is necessary to allocate enough base memory because it didn’t work with only 512 MB.

  2. Doesn’t work for me.

    I got it working on VB4.0.4 using the apt-get VirtualBox-OSE-GuestUtils, but not on VB 4.0.6. Neither with the guest additions included with VB.
    I tried both from a fresh Ubuntu 11.04 64 image.

    I have a NVidea GeForce GT 330M in my Notebook.

    Everything installs as described above. But on startup (after login) the VirtualBox guest hangs.

    1024 RAM
    128MB Video (tried 32 and 64 as well)
    3d acceleration enabled

    When I turn of 3d, it runs fine with Gnome desktop. So guess I could install Unity 2D, but would really like to get it to work normally. Any ideas??

Leave a Reply

